Jul
20
7:00 PM19:00

The Ruby Author Event (San Francisco, CA)

Rachel Heng, author of the debut novel, Suicide Club (Henry Holt, 2018), is The Ruby's July Writer in Residence. The Ruby's Writer in Residence program seeks to support the best writers writing, and to bring writers from outside the Bay Area to The Ruby to read. Writers in residence stay in our upstairs writers loft.

In conversation with Rachel Khong, author of Goodbye, Vitamin

View Event →
Jul
12
7:30 PM19:30

The Riff Raff Reading Series (London, UK)

At our July event, we're joined by the following writers:

Rachel Heng, author of Suicide Club - Listed by Grazia, The Bookseller and The Rumpus as a 'debut to look out for in 2018'. Set in a thought-provoking future, the Independent described it as an 'original and subversive exploration of health obsessions, consumption, and what makes life worth living'.

Claire Askew, author of All The Hidden Truths - A wrenching, gripping, unforgettable debut crime novel for fans of Susie Steiner and Kate Atkinson.

Amy Lilwall, author of The Biggerers a bleak and blackly comical dystopian tale for fans of The Borrowers, The Truckers and Munmun,

Emily Thomas, author of Mud - an achingly funny, touching story for anyone who has been thrown in at the deep end.

Amy Heydenrych, author of Shame on You - an addictive psychological thriller that will make you doubt everything you read online.

Holly Ringland, author of The Lost Flowers of Alice Hart - a heartbreaking tale of love, loss, betrayal and the redemptive power of storytelling.

View Event →
Jul
11
7:00 PM19:00

Dark Societies Book Club (London, UK)

In association with Blackwell’s, the Post-Apocalyptic Book Club is very excited to announce an evening filled with all things dark & dystopian with authors Rachel Heng (Suicide Club), James Smythe (I Still Dream) & Heather Child (Everything About You).

Join us as we discover worlds where technology dictates every aspect of our health & wellbeing, where people we have lost can be recreated in data form & how technology impacts how we live & love.

View Event →
Hospital Club Book Club Special
Mar
13
7:00 PM19:00

Hospital Club Book Club Special

Doors at 7pm for a 7.30pm start.

All members who are booked into Book Club will need to collect their copy from the main reception on Gound Floor.

Every month, Book Club brings members together through literacy discussion and celebration. This month we explore 'Suicide Club' by author Rachel Heng.

Join Rachel Heng in conversation as she discusses her debut novel in a special pre-publication event. Suicide Club, a provocative book which explores our society’s obsession with youth, beauty and wellness, will be published by Sceptre in the UK and Henry Holt in July. Each attendee will receive an exclusive pre-publication Suicide Club proof package ahead of the event. 

View Event →
2018 AWP Conference and Bookfair: "Work Work Balance: When a Day Job Pays More Than the Bills"
Mar
8
10:30 AM10:30

2018 AWP Conference and Bookfair: "Work Work Balance: When a Day Job Pays More Than the Bills"

  • Virginia Barber Middleton Stage, Tampa Convention Center (map)
  • Google Calendar ICS

What if working a day job and writing didn't have to be a zero sum game? Hear from writers who have used their "day jobs" as inspiration, source material, and motivation to finish their books. We'll dig into how working and writing simultaneously doesn't always mean sacrificing one or the other, but rather, can create a balance leading to inspiration and success. What are the advantages of working and writing--and how do you find time for both? How can a day job both inspire and expose a writer to a world beyond what they've known?

Panelists: Rachel Heng, author of Suicide Club; Chelsea Hodson, author of Tonight I'm Someone Else; Libby Burton, Senior Editor at Henry Holt

View Event →
Nuts and Bolts: INTERNATIONAL PUBLISHING FOR WRITERS
Jan
3
4:30 PM16:30

Nuts and Bolts: INTERNATIONAL PUBLISHING FOR WRITERS

Internationally published authors Alvin Pang (When the Barbarians Arrive), Krishna Udayasankar (Immortal), Rachel Heng (Suicide Club) & Toh Hsien Min (dans quel sens tombent les feuilles) share their practical experience getting published overseas, and discuss their insights on international publishing issues and literary agents.

View Event →
World Domination: Year End Reading
Dec
28
7:00 PM19:00

World Domination: Year End Reading

IT'S THE END OF THE WORLD AS WE KNOW IT... at least for Sing Lit Station in 2017 - but we've reserved the best event for last. Four amazing Singaporean writers have been battering down the doors of that mythic locale known as "THE REST OF THE WORLD". 

JY Yang ("The Red Threads of Fortune", "The Black Tides of Heaven") stormed the walls of the fantasy world with their dual silkpunk novellas from Tor in 2017 that are only the opening salvoes in what promises to be a mind-blowing Tensorate Universe.

Krishna Udayasankar ("Immortal", "3", "The Aryavarta Chronicles") clinched not just one, but two Bollywood film trilogy deals in 2017 - undying fantasy novel "Immortal" with Phantom Films, and the epic mythological trilogy "The Aryavarta Chronicles" by Sonam Kapoor.

Rachel Heng ("Suicide Club") kicked off a six-figure bidding war between major international publishers, and will be launching her literary science-fiction work in 2018 with Sceptre in the UK and Henry Holt & Co in the US.

Sharlene Teo ("Ponti") beat out hundreds of writers to win the inaugural Deborah Rogers Writers' Award for her debut novel, lauded by Ian McEwan as "a remarkable first novel in the making", and will be published by Picador in 2018.

___________________

We've managed to catch all of them in the midst of their world-skipping schedules at Sing Lit Station on Dec 29 for a year end WORLD DOMINATION reading and Q&A, and we've partnered with mixologist Vanessa Victoria to interpret their works into four bespoke cocktails available at this event only. 

View Event →
Bat City Review Friday The 13th Reading
Oct
12
7:00 PM19:00

Bat City Review Friday The 13th Reading

Please join us for our second reading of the semester at Lewis Carnegie Gallery on Friday the 13th. There will be free food & drinks, a performance by the Chulita Vinyl Club, and readings from Jessica Hincapie, Ally Glass-Katz, Julie Howd, Rachel Heng, and Danny Ruiz. Costumes are not required but HIGHLY encouraged ;-)

View Event →