Sep
10
6:00 PM18:00

Indelible in the Hippocampus: Writers on #MeToo

“Indelible in the hippocampus is the laughter,” said Dr. Christine Blasey-Ford when she testified to Congress in September 2018 about the men who victimized her. A year earlier, in October 2017, the hashtag #MeToo shone a light on the internalized, normalized sexual harassment and abuse that’d been ubiquitous for women for generations.

Among the first books to emerge from the #MeToo movement, Indelible in the Hippocampus is a truly intersectional collection of essays, fiction, and poetry. These original texts sound the voices of black, Latinx, Asian, queer, and trans writers, to name but a few, and says “me too” 23 times. Whether reflecting on their teenage selves or their modern-day workplaces, each contributor approaches the subject with unforgettable authenticity and strength. Together these pieces create a portrait of cultural sea change, offering the reader a deeper understanding of this complex, galvanizing pivot in contemporary consciousness.

Join us September 10th at BookWoman for a reading and discussion on the book and its themes curated by editor Shelly Oria, featuring authors Deb Olin Unferth, Rachel Heng, Maya Perez, and Nia KB.

View Event →
Sep
6
7:00 PM19:00

North Richland Hills Authors & Arts Gala

Join us at the inaugural NRH Authors and Arts gala for a memorable evening celebrating Texas authors and art that will be sure to delight and enlighten you! This event will feature a dynamic group of authors with Skip Hollandsworth as the keynote speaker. Proceeds from the event support literacy and events at the North Richland Hills Library.

View Event →
Not Everyone Is Special Book Release Show (Austin, TX)
Apr
26
8:00 PM20:00

Not Everyone Is Special Book Release Show (Austin, TX)

Friday, April 26th -- we're celebrating a collaboration of art mediums for Josh Denslow's book release at Cheer Up Charlies! Featuring readings by Owen Egerton, Rachel Heng and accompanied visuals and audo by Matt Steinke, plus inside and outside sets by MARMALAKES, Thor & Friends, MAJOR MAJOR MAJOR, ANDY, Borrisokane and special DJ sets by members of The Octopus Project! Local artists Jessica Fontenot, Half-Human and Graham Francoise will be displaying their artwork all night. This one's not to be missed. ♥

View Event →
Mar
30
12:00 PM12:00

Short Short Fiction Festival

Austin's popping short fiction scene will shine again at the annual AUSTIN SHORT SHORT FICTION FESTIVAL #4!
Hosted by the Elisabet Ney Museum and The New Writers Project at UT Austin!!

On Sunday March 30 from noon to 3PM, join fifteen or more local authors as they read their best short short fiction piece (<1000 words) aloud outside the Ney in this event! We also hope to have a couple of non-local nationally-known surprise readers. Mary Helen Specht leads the ceremonies this year, and booths from local publishers will also be present. Food trucks, family-friendly activities, and face-painting too!

There will be chairs but also ample space for picnics too. Join us under the big Burr Oak for the fun.

The lineup will be publicized soon.

Elisabet Ney Museum, 304 E 44th Street, Austin 78751; Phone: 512-974-1625

Admission as always is free!

View Event →
Mar
28
9:00 PM21:00

Black Warrior Review / Bat City Review AWP Reading

Carb up! Come to the original Voodoo Doughnut, a Portland landmark, for tasty literary treats. Readings from Vi Khi Nao, Rachel Heng, Edgar Kunz, Lara Prescott, and other great writers featured in the pages of Bat City and Black Warrior Review. Plus donuts, swag, and a central location. Load up on sweets with us before venturing into the heart of downtown. Note: This is an outdoor reading (in Voodoo's on-site/sidewalk picnic area), so dress accordingly. 

View Event →
Nov
2
to Nov 11

Singapore Writers Festival (Singapore)

Achieving Utopia 
In conversation with Thea Lim and Jason Erik Lundberg
2 Nov, Fri 8:00 PM - 9:00 PM
The Arts House (TAH), Gallery ll
FESTIVAL PASS EVENT

Beauty is Power?
In conversation with Melba Escobar and Amanda Chong
3 Nov, Sat 11:00 AM - 12:00 PM
National Gallery Singapore, Ngee Ann Kongsi Auditorium
FESTIVAL PASS EVENT

Who Writes The World?
In conversation with Kirstin Chen, Clarissa Goenawan and Thea Lim
3 Nov, Sat 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Festival Bookstore

The Familiar and the Alien

In conversation with Kass Morgan and Krishna Udayasankar
4 Nov, Sun 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM
The Arts House (TAH), Chamber
FESTIVAL PASS EVENT

Speculative Fiction as Moral Compass
In conversation with Fernando R. Ocampo and Nuraliah Norasid
10 Nov, Sat 10:30 AM - 11:30 AM
The Arts House (TAH), Blue Room
FESTIVAL PASS EVENT

View Event →
Oct
28
3:00 PM15:00

Texas Book Festival (Austin, TX)

  • State Capitol, Capitol Extension Room 2.014 1100 Congress Ave, Austin, TX 78701 United States (map)
  • Google Calendar ICS

Destiny Versus Choice

Rachel Heng and Natalia Sylvester

Questions of life, death, immortality, and the afterlife abound in Heng and Sylvester’s new novels, one more dystopian than the other and both channeling the writers’ curiosities around the mystery at the end of life. How much control do we actually have over our lives? And our afterlives? What cultural and political forces are at work in the decisions we make?

View Event →
Jul
20
7:00 PM19:00

The Ruby Author Event (San Francisco, CA)

Rachel Heng, author of the debut novel, Suicide Club (Henry Holt, 2018), is The Ruby's July Writer in Residence. The Ruby's Writer in Residence program seeks to support the best writers writing, and to bring writers from outside the Bay Area to The Ruby to read. Writers in residence stay in our upstairs writers loft.

In conversation with Rachel Khong, author of Goodbye, Vitamin

View Event →
Jul
12
7:30 PM19:30

The Riff Raff Reading Series (London, UK)

At our July event, we're joined by the following writers:

Rachel Heng, author of Suicide Club - Listed by Grazia, The Bookseller and The Rumpus as a 'debut to look out for in 2018'. Set in a thought-provoking future, the Independent described it as an 'original and subversive exploration of health obsessions, consumption, and what makes life worth living'.

Claire Askew, author of All The Hidden Truths - A wrenching, gripping, unforgettable debut crime novel for fans of Susie Steiner and Kate Atkinson.

Amy Lilwall, author of The Biggerers a bleak and blackly comical dystopian tale for fans of The Borrowers, The Truckers and Munmun,

Emily Thomas, author of Mud - an achingly funny, touching story for anyone who has been thrown in at the deep end.

Amy Heydenrych, author of Shame on You - an addictive psychological thriller that will make you doubt everything you read online.

Holly Ringland, author of The Lost Flowers of Alice Hart - a heartbreaking tale of love, loss, betrayal and the redemptive power of storytelling.

View Event →
Jul
11
7:00 PM19:00

Dark Societies Book Club (London, UK)

In association with Blackwell’s, the Post-Apocalyptic Book Club is very excited to announce an evening filled with all things dark & dystopian with authors Rachel Heng (Suicide Club), James Smythe (I Still Dream) & Heather Child (Everything About You).

Join us as we discover worlds where technology dictates every aspect of our health & wellbeing, where people we have lost can be recreated in data form & how technology impacts how we live & love.

View Event →
Hospital Club Book Club Special
Mar
13
7:00 PM19:00

Hospital Club Book Club Special

Doors at 7pm for a 7.30pm start.

All members who are booked into Book Club will need to collect their copy from the main reception on Gound Floor.

Every month, Book Club brings members together through literacy discussion and celebration. This month we explore 'Suicide Club' by author Rachel Heng.

Join Rachel Heng in conversation as she discusses her debut novel in a special pre-publication event. Suicide Club, a provocative book which explores our society’s obsession with youth, beauty and wellness, will be published by Sceptre in the UK and Henry Holt in July. Each attendee will receive an exclusive pre-publication Suicide Club proof package ahead of the event. 

View Event →
2018 AWP Conference and Bookfair: "Work Work Balance: When a Day Job Pays More Than the Bills"
Mar
8
10:30 AM10:30

2018 AWP Conference and Bookfair: "Work Work Balance: When a Day Job Pays More Than the Bills"

  • Virginia Barber Middleton Stage, Tampa Convention Center (map)
  • Google Calendar ICS

What if working a day job and writing didn't have to be a zero sum game? Hear from writers who have used their "day jobs" as inspiration, source material, and motivation to finish their books. We'll dig into how working and writing simultaneously doesn't always mean sacrificing one or the other, but rather, can create a balance leading to inspiration and success. What are the advantages of working and writing--and how do you find time for both? How can a day job both inspire and expose a writer to a world beyond what they've known?

Panelists: Rachel Heng, author of Suicide Club; Chelsea Hodson, author of Tonight I'm Someone Else; Libby Burton, Senior Editor at Henry Holt

View Event →
Nuts and Bolts: INTERNATIONAL PUBLISHING FOR WRITERS
Jan
3
4:30 PM16:30

Nuts and Bolts: INTERNATIONAL PUBLISHING FOR WRITERS

Internationally published authors Alvin Pang (When the Barbarians Arrive), Krishna Udayasankar (Immortal), Rachel Heng (Suicide Club) & Toh Hsien Min (dans quel sens tombent les feuilles) share their practical experience getting published overseas, and discuss their insights on international publishing issues and literary agents.

View Event →